4 Consequences of Traffic Violations
Traffic violations are common, and nearly every driver has committed at least one. However, some traffic violations come with severe consequences, and the more traffic violations you rack up, the more consequences you may face. If you would like to learn more, check out these four possible consequences of traffic violations in North Carolina.
Traffic violations nearly always come with a fine, but the exact amount depends on the violation and the location of the violation. In North Carolina, however, there is an absolute speed limit, so even if you go one mile over the speed limit, you may get a ticket and fine. In most cases, the fine is $100 to $1,000.
If you are caught going 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, you may be charged with reckless driving. According to Driving Laws published by NOLO, North Carolina, reckless driving is considered a class 2 misdemeanor and has a fine of at least $1,000.
Other traffic violations that may come with fines include driving without valid registration, making an illegal U-turn, running a red light, failing to yield, following too closely, and much more.
2. Insurance Rates
Most people in most states need auto insurance to legally drive, and all insurance comes with a premium you must pay each month. As long as you pay the premium, the insurance should provide money if you are involved in a car accident.
The premium depends on many factors, including your age, gender, and driving history. Therefore, the more traffic violations you have on your driving record, the higher your premium because the insurance carrier views you as a high-risk driver.
In North Carolina, if you are a 25-year-old driver, you may pay about $1,173 for full coverage insurance if you have a clean driving record. If you have one speeding ticket, the price can increase to $1,707. Even minimum coverage comes with a $205 difference for just one speeding ticket. If you are 40 years or older, you’ll still face increased rates, but with an annual difference of $493 and $192 for full coverage and minimum coverage respectively.
3. License Suspension
In most cases, if you get one or two traffic violations, you won’t get your license suspended. However, the more tickets you get, the more points you get on your license. More points lead to license suspension or revocation.
If you get seven points within three years, you will receive a warning letter with an invitation to take a driver improvement clinic, which costs $65. After you finish the clinic, three points will be removed from your license. If you get 12 points within three years, expect a license suspension of up to 60 days.
Once your license is reinstated after the 60 days, you follow tougher guidelines. For example, it only takes four points before you get a warning letter and an invitation to take the driver improvement clinic, and eight points can get your license suspended for six months.
4. Jail Time
Some traffic violations may come with some jail time. Driving with under the influence of alcohol in North Carolina can come with jail time of 24 hours to 2 years, depending on your charges. After your third DWI, however, you will likely face at least one year in jail.
Reckless driving is another traffic violation that can land you in jail. As a Class 2 misdemeanor, you can end up in jail for 60 days. Other traffic violations that may include jail time include speeding 15 miles per hour over the speed limit and aggressive driving.
If you’ve gotten a ticket, jail time, a fine, or a license suspension for a traffic violation it’s time to contact a skilled attorney. With a good attorney in your corner, you may be abler to reduce your punishment. For more information, contact us at the Law Offices of Carl L Britt, Jr Attorney at Law today.