Schedule a FREE Consultation


4 Top Reasons for Traffic Tickets in North Carolina

Police and man in the car

If you’re a motorist in North Carolina, it’s important to know the traffic offenses that could lead to a ticket. Traffic tickets, including those issued due to infractions, can result in higher insurance rates, revocation or indefinite suspension of your license, and possibly a misdemeanor or felony charges. Here are the top four offenses that could net you a traffic ticket.

1. Breaking the Speed Laws

Nothing is likely to attract the police officer’s attention faster than someone breaking North Carolina speed limit laws.

The primary reason why police make speeding their top priority is that speeding is among the top causes of accidents in North Carolina. In 2018, for example, speeding accounted for 21.6% of the road-related deaths, according to the Department of Transportation.

There are two types of speeding limit laws in NC: absolute and basic. The absolute law states that a driver should get a speeding ticket by going even one mile above the fixed speed limit. The basic law prohibits the driver from driving at the speed that surpasses what a prudent driver would drive at under the road conditions at the time.

A speeding ticket could result in hefty fines of up to $1,000, a 60-days jail-time, or both. Your license could also get revoked or suspended for up to 1 year. You should never exceed the recommended speed limit to avoid a speeding ticket and the severe consequences that come with it.

2. Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is another common reason why people get tickets in North Carolina. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reckless driving refers to any form of driving that endangers other road users or properties. Types of reckless driving include the following:

  • Running red lights
  • Blocking other cars in an attempt to change lanes
  • Tailgating
  • Failing to signal turns

Reckless driving is classified as a class 2 misdemeanor, under section 20-140 of NC vehicle code. This means you could end up with a permanent criminal record if you are convicted of reckless or aggressive diving. A class 2 misdemeanor can also add 4 points on your license and insurance record.

Some tips to prevent or avoid a reckless driving ticket include avoiding tense situations that could make you angry and irritable while driving and staying calm when you come across an aggressive driver.

3. Taking the Wheel Without Insurance

All vehicles driven in North Carolina are required by state law to have a liability insurance cover. Driving without a license can, therefore, net you a traffic ticket. If you’re found guilty for not having insurance cover, you could face hefty fines of up to $100 or 45-days probation. Your license could also be revoked or suspended for up to 30 days.

4. Driving Without a Valid License

It is illegal in North Carolina to drive without or on a suspended or revoked driver’s license. Unlicensed driving can result in 20 days in prison or a fine of up to $200. If you don’t have a license, don’t drive.

Apart from fines and penalties, traffic tickets can also have long-lasting adverse effects since the offense will always appear on your record. It is, therefore, essential to do what it takes to prevent or fight every traffic ticket that comes your way. When you fight a traffic ticket, you could get a reduced fine or even get your case dismissed.

If you recently got a ticket and are planning to fight it in court, you don’t have to do it alone. Our seasoned traffic lawyers can help you protect your rights and interests. Contact us as soon as possible for legal assistance.

Contact Us Today

Contact Us Today

Have legal questions that need answering? Let us know how we can help you today.

  • Call Us (910) 483-1176
  • 224 Dick St
    Fayetteville, NC 28301